Access keys | Skip to primary navigation | Skip to secondary navigation | Skip to content | Skip to footer |
Problems viewing this site
Link to Queensland Government (
Home | Site map | Contact us | for
Department of Education, Training and Employment
Act Smart Be Safe > School Leaders >

Managing communication technology in schools

Communication technologies such as mobile phones, email, internet instant messaging programs such as Messenger and Snapchat, blogs and social networking websites such as Facebook, Twitter and Instagram are now an indispensable part of social life for many young people.

However the use of these communication technologies at school, unmonitored, can be disruptive and potentially unsafe. Access to the internet within schools is also carefully managed, with inappropriate sites blocked, either locally or centrally. Schools can request changes to blocked or unblocked sites (either temporarily or permanently) to ensure these filters are appropriate for each setting.

The departmental procedure in place for managing the use of such technologies in schools is set out in the Information Communication and Technology External Link procedure.

School computer operating environments and networks have restrictions, firewalls and monitoring on which programs and websites can be accessed from school computers (for example, restricting or banning the use of certain websites such as MySpace and Hotmail).

Communication technologies can also be used as part of bullying or 'cyber-bullying' behaviour, which can possibly lead to violence. When developing their school's Responsible Behaviour Plan for Students Microsoft® Word document555K, schools may incorporate the possible use of mobile telephones as a means of bullying.

Information for schools about cyber-bullying is available from the Bullying. No Way! website.

^ Top of page

This page was last reviewed on 31 Oct 2016 at 02:43PM

Copyright | Disclaimer | Privacy | Right to information | Access keys | Other languagesOther languages

© The State of Queensland (Department of Education and Training) 2017.

Queensland Government