Skip links and keyboard navigation

Erica Brindley Memorial Trophy

Since 2004, the ensemble judged as giving the most outstanding performance at the Fanfare Grand Final Concert has received the Erica Brindley Memorial Trophy.

Erica Brindley, an instrumental music teacher, was killed in a tragic accident at Carnarvon Gorge on 23 October 2002 during the Urangan State High School Concert Band's outback music tour.

The naming of the Fanfare trophy honours Erica's life and commitment to music education in Queensland.

Erica was a dedicated teacher, committed to providing quality education to a significant number of students in the Hervey Bay community. She was an accomplished musician and scholarship winner with the Queensland Conservatorium of Music.

Erica was based at Kawungan State School and also taught instrumental music at Hervey Bay State High School, Yarillee State School, Urangan State High School and Pialba State School. She was also a great supporter of Education Queensland's biennial Fanfare Festival.

From 1985-2002, the winning ensemble was awarded the Lin Powell Perpetual Trophy (DOC, 184KB) for the most outstanding performance of the Fanfare Festival. It is now permanently held at Cairns State High School as the Cairns State High School Orchestra is the only multiple winner of the award, having won it four times.

Commissioning the trophy

Through Craft Queensland, Brisbane-based artist Joanna Bone has been commissioned to produce the Erica Brindley Memorial Trophy. She was assisted by woodcraftsman David Fuller.

Made of hand-blown glass and wood, Joanna's sculpture is of a timeless design that reflects the musical excellence that Erica was committed to and that Fanfare stands for.

Joanna is a Queensland-based artist who specialises in glass blowing. She holds a Master of Arts (Glass and Ceramics) from the Royal College of Art, London. Joanna's work has been exhibited in art galleries in London, Oxford, Milan and Frankfurt. In 2000 she won the Royal Overseas League Trophy competition for an original glass trophy design.

^ Top of page

Last updated 21 January 2014