Access keys | Skip to primary navigation | Skip to secondary navigation | Skip to content | Skip to footer |
Problems viewing this site
Link to Queensland Government (
Site map | Contact us |
Department of Education, Training and Employment
Working in education in Queensland
Make a difference. Teach > Teaching in Queensland >


Queensland map showing regions

With approximately 1230 state schools across Queensland, teachers have many opportunities to experience teaching in a diverse range of contexts, communities and locations.

Queensland is divided into 4 departmental zones, and 7 education regions.

Departmental zones:

Educational geographical regions:

In order to satisfy state-wide staffing requirements, permanent teachers may be required to work anywhere in Queensland at some time in their careers. Learn more about teaching in rural Queensland.

Resources and maps

Use the searchable Schools Directory Map to find out more about individual schools, regions and zones.

For a printable map of Queensland with regional office details, download our Quickguide map: Queensland regional map and office contacts Microsoft® Word document.

A list of all Regional office contact details is also available.

^ Top of page

This page was last reviewed on 25 Feb 2015

Copyright | Disclaimer | Privacy | Right to information | Access keys | Other languagesOther languages

© The State of Queensland (Department of Education and Training) 2017.

Queensland Government