Access keys | Skip to primary navigation | Skip to secondary navigation | Skip to content | Skip to footer |
Problems viewing this site
Link to Queensland Government (
Site map | Contact us |
Department of Education, Training and Employment
Working in education in Queensland
Make a difference. Teach > Teach Rural >

Rural and Remote locations

Queensland is divided into 4 departmental zones for state schools; Metropolitan, Provincial City, Rural, and Remote.

Teaching in a rural school does not always mean teaching in isolation. Some coastal communities as well as locations within easy driving distance of Brisbane are classified as rural schools.

Schools that are within 1.5 hour's drive of a major regional/provincial centre, such as Townsville or Cairns, may also be classed as rural. Remote locations are generally locations that are over 3 hours drive from a regional/provincial or larger town.

Use the Schools Directory Map to search for individual schools, sort schools by transfer rating, or to view our region and zone boundaries.

For a printable map of Queensland with regional office details, download our Quickguide map: Queensland regional map and office contacts Microsoft® Word document441K.

A list of all Regional office contact details is also available.

Educate. Explore. Experience. Teach Rural.

^ Top of page

This page was last reviewed on 18 Apr 2016

Photograph of Natalie Reason

"There's a strong sense of belonging and togetherness, I feel like I'm a part of something, which is completely different to how we felt living in the city."

Natalie Reason

Copyright | Disclaimer | Privacy | Right to information | Access keys | Other languagesOther languages

© The State of Queensland (Department of Education and Training) 2017.

Queensland Government