Access keys | Skip to primary navigation | Skip to secondary navigation | Skip to content | Skip to footer |
Problems viewing this site

Teachers and tech support staff win awards

19 August 2011

Teachers and tech support staff win awards

Smart staff ... the Smart Classrooms winners.

A group of state school teachers and technical support staff has been rewarded for their hard work and innovation with Smart Classrooms Awards.

In simultaneous award ceremonies held on the Gold Coast and in Townsville on August 8, this year's 12 winners were presented with their awards by Associate Director-General Operations Dr Richard Eden.

Founded in 2002, the awards recognise the achievements of 10 of the state's most innovative and engaging teachers. This year two technical support staff were also recognised for their outstanding Customer Service Excellence.

The winners receive a $5,000 prize package that allows them to extend their professional development by attending conferences or courses enhancing their understanding and practices in ICT in the area of education. The winners are:

Smart Classrooms Awards for teachers:

  • Sharon Baker, Hambledon State School
  • Kristie Blakeney, Hambledon State School
  • Tammy Duncalfe, Bracken Ridge State High School
  • Chris Gauthier, Cleveland District State High School
  • Judith Hinton, Frenchville State School
  • Rose Marszalek, Peregian Springs State School
  • Tony McCormack, Charleville State High School
  • Lisa Noonan, Sandy Strait State School
  • Hazel Orr, Narangba Valley State School
  • Ashley Proud, McDowall State School

Smart Classrooms Awards for Customer Service Excellence

  • Darrell Collins - Systems Technician, Cairns Office, Far North Queensland
  • Matthew MacGregor - Technical Officer, Highland Reserve State School and Coomera Rivers State School

For more information about the awards, including the list of highly commended teachers, visit Smart Classrooms.