Access keys | Skip to primary navigation | Skip to secondary navigation | Skip to content | Skip to footer |
Problems viewing this site

Doherty winners have formula for success

23 August 2013

Doherty winners have formula for success

Prize surprise... Education Minister John-Paul Langbroek meets Peter Doherty Award winner Fiona Dao at the Queensland Academy for Science Maths and Technology. Photo: Steve Sayers

Queensland's science future is in good hands if the winners of the10th annual Peter Doherty Awards for Excellence in Science and Science Education are anything to go by.

Minister for Education, Training and Employment John-Paul Langbroek announced the 21 winners of the prestigious prize during a recent visit to the Queensland Academy for Science Maths and Technology (QASMT) at Toowong.

He met students Fiona Dao and Myky Tran who, as Peter Doherty Award winners, will receive $3000 to be used to pursue future science career aspirations.

'It was great to pay a surprise visit to Fiona and Myky who, along with impressive academic achievements, have demonstrated their commitment to science through extra-curricular activities,' Mr Langbroek said.

'Fiona helps run the academy's astronomy club and tutors younger students, while school captain Myky has visited other schools to encourage her peers to study science and follow in her footsteps by participating in the National Youth Science Forum in Canberra.'

Ms Dao said she was happy to receive the award and grateful to those involved.

'I am excited to see where the award will take me in the future,' she said. 'Although not set in stone, I plan to use the award money to attend conferences or workshops in the field of neuroscience in order to further my knowledge in this area as I find the brain extremely interesting.'

Mr Langbroek congratulated the students, teachers, support officers, schools and organisations that have won awards in this 10th anniversary year.

'These awards encourage people to continue their great work in the many fields of science which affect our everyday lives,' he said.

The winners will be presented with their awards by Professor Peter Doherty - a Brisbane-born Nobel Prize-winning scientist who was educated at Indooroopilly State High School - at a presentation ceremony in Brisbane on Wednesday 6 November.

For the full list of winners see the Peter Doherty Awards website.

Share this story