Access keys | Skip to primary navigation | Skip to secondary navigation | Skip to content | Skip to footer |
Problems viewing this site

SMART CLASSROOMS: Regional awards for ICT-savvy teachers

November 2009

Twenty-six teachers throughout the state have been presented with Smart Classrooms Regional Teacher Awards as part of this year's World Teachers' Day celebrations.

The teachers were recognised for their use of information and communication technologies (ICT) to enhance student learning.

eLearning director Laurie Campbell said this year's winners were worthy recipients committed to making ICT integral to teaching in Queensland schools.

'The Smart Classrooms Regional Teacher Awards reward teachers who have made significant progress in their use of ICT to improve students' learning,' Mr Campbell said.

'In the past few years the Department of Education and Training's Smart Classrooms strategy has made ICT a vital part of all teachers' teaching and learning practice.'

The Smart Classrooms Regional Teacher Awards are presented to 26 - one from each of Queensland's educational districts - well-deserving teachers every year.

Every winner receives a $1500 professional development grant to be used to attend conferences or courses that enhance the teacher's ability to use ICT in education.

Smart Classrooms Regional Teacher Awards 2009 recipients:

  • Matt Williams, Toowoomba East State School
  • Lee Miller, Bowenville State School
  • Michael Davidson, Warwick West State School
  • Samantha Owczarek, Charleville School of Distance Education
  • Cassie Geissmann, Tannum Sands State High School
  • Mark Gamble, Denison State School
  • Jason Ireland, Birdsville State School
  • Maureen Juhas, Weir State School
  • Kate Laurie, Townview State School
  • Gayle Robertson, Karalee State School
  • Tracy Hume, Forest Lake State School
  • Susan Ilich, Mackay North State High School
  • Leigh Howser, Cairns School of Distance Education
  • Ken Hamill, Tully State School
  • Emma Toombs, Coen State School
  • Allison Hill, Arundel State School
  • Heather Murry, Ormeau Woods State High School
  • David Jeffs, Maryborough State High School
  • Jo Vidler, Monogorilby State School
  • Liz Irvine, Bundaberg South State School
  • Marie Moo, Calamvale Community College
  • Jane Mullins, The Gap State School
  • Glen Watt, Brisbane School of Distance Education
  • Shelley Bampton, Mitchelton State High School
  • Jenny Graham, Noosaville State School
  • Jodie Riek, Morayfield East State School