Access keys | Skip to primary navigation | Skip to secondary navigation | Skip to content | Skip to footer |
Problems viewing this site
Link to Queensland Government (
Home | Site map | Contact us | for
Department of Education
Professional Development > Employee groups > Teacher Aides >

Classification structure

Teacher aide positions are advertised and recruited at the local school level. An open merit process is used to select the most suitable candidate from the applicant pool.

No qualifications are required for beginning teacher aides, although applicants in possession of a Certificate III in Education Support are highly regarded.

Beginning teacher aides are appointed to classification TAOO2.

TAOO2 consists of four incremental pay levels. On completion of twelve months' satisfactory service, permanent teacher aides move from level 01 to level 02, then to 03 and 04 on an annual basis.

Temporary/contract teacher aides, who do not work the entire school year, must complete 1200 hours' service to move to the next incremental level.

Classification TAOO3 is achieved by teacher aides who meet the following criteria:

  1. Completed twelve months' service at TAOO2 level 04
  2. Hold an Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) Certificate III, an equivalent or a higher qualification (e.g. Certificate IV, Diploma, Degree), and
  3. Hold a current Senior First Aid Certificate

Progression to TAOO3 is automatic if the above qualifications have been entered into personnel records. Teacher aides with qualifications should complete and forward to District Office a Qualifications Advice Completed/Currently Undertaken form Microsoft® Word document (DETE employees only) available on OnePortal.

Classification TAOO3 also consists of four incremental levels.

TAOO4 positions are allocated to schools where a need has been established and are filled from the current teacher aide workforce. They typically involve a specialised teacher aide role.

Possession of a relevant Certificate III or IV qualification is desirable.

Classification TAOO4 also consists of four incremental levels.

^ Top of page

This page was last reviewed on 10 Apr 2015 at 11:30AM

Copyright | Disclaimer | Privacy | Right to information | Access keys | Other languagesOther languages

© The State of Queensland 2018.

Queensland Government