Access keys | Skip to primary navigation | Skip to secondary navigation | Skip to content | Skip to footer |
Problems viewing this site
Link to Queensland Government (
Home | Site map | Contact us | for
Department of Education, Training and Employment
Professional Development > Frameworks and Standards >

Capability and Leadership Framework (CLF)

What is the CLF?

The Queensland Public Service Capability and Leadership Framework External Link (CLF) demonstrates the capabilities required of public service employees at all levels, across all agencies and departments.

The CLF is not the primary framework for teachers and school leaders.

The CLF is designed to support the development of a highly skilled public service delivering an excellent level of service to the Queensland community. It is based on the rigorously researched Australian Public Service Integrated Leadership System that was introduced in 2004.

The framework is based on five core capabilities. The capabilities place more emphasis on leadership with a future-focus at classifications AO7 (or equivalent) and above. The capabilities are listed below.

CLF1-7 (A02- A07 or equivalent)

  1. Supports strategic direction
  2. Achieves results
  3. Supports productive working relationships
  4. Displays personal drive and integrity
  5. Communicates with influence

CLF 8-12 and CES ([A08 [or equivalent] and above)

  1. Shapes strategic thinking
  2. Achieves results
  3. Cultivates productive working relationships
  4. Exemplifies personal drive and integrity
  5. Communicates with influence

How is the Department of Education and Training (DET) using the CLF?

The CLF is available on the Public Service Commission website External Link.

How can I use it?

^ Top of page

This page was last reviewed on 12 Mar 2015 at 10:00AM

Capability and Leadership Framework (CLF)

Capability and Leadership Framework

Copyright | Disclaimer | Privacy | Access keys | Other languagesOther languages

© The State of Queensland (Department of Education and Training) 2005-2015.

Queensland Government