Access keys | Skip to primary navigation | Skip to secondary navigation | Skip to content | Skip to footer |
Problems viewing this site
Link to Queensland Government (
Home | Site map | Contact us | for
Department of Education, Training and Employment
Curriculum >

The early years of schooling

Prep to Year 2 is the early years of schooling in Queensland.

In the early years of schooling students are viewed as capable learners who have diverse experiences. They are engaged in learning the curriculum in ways tailored for young learners' needs and interests, and in social and cultural experiences with teachers, families and their communities.

Schools and teachers plan for teaching, learning, assessment and reporting for all students in the early years of schooling as specified in the P-12 curriculum, assessment and reporting framework and supplementary policy statements.

Queensland state schools and teachers focus on supporting the continuity of student learning and their smooth transitions between early years settings, such as kindergarten and Prep.

Step Up into Education is a Queensland Government commitment to better prepare and support children to make the transition to school, and to support parents to become involved in their child's education.

Early years student learning is monitored to plan for further teaching and learning and school resourcing. Schools and teachers may use Early Start and Australian Early Development Census (AEDC) information and data among others to make decisions to support learning for all students.

Parent and community engagement is important and encouraged in the early years of schooling to optimise student learning. For example, programs such as Parent Ready Readers External Link support parents and volunteers to develop skills to support young readers.

^ Top of page

This page was last reviewed on 22 Feb 2015

Copyright | Disclaimer | Privacy | Right to information | Access keys | Other languagesOther languages

© The State of Queensland (Department of Education and Training) 2017.

Queensland Government