Access keys | Skip to primary navigation | Skip to secondary navigation | Skip to content | Skip to footer |
Problems viewing this site
Link to Queensland Government (
Home | Site map | Contact us | for
Department of Education
Bandscales >


Junior Primary - Reading

This development of the Junior Primary Reading and Viewing Bandscales would not have been possible without the permission given to us by Penny McKay, Marilyn Newton and Catherine Hudson to adapt the bandscales from:

The ESL Bandscales. In NLLIA ESL Development: Language and Literacy in Schools. Canberra: National Languages and Literacy Institute of Australia 1994.

I wish to thank the following people who assisted in this project:

Denise Turnbull
Senior Project Officer

Working Party
Participating School Principals
Catherine Hudson Colleen Hope (Thursday Island SS)
Lynn Leon Neville Goss (Mornington Island SS)
Christine Turner Mark Ames (Doomadgee SS)
Denise Turnbull Annette O'Rourke (Aurukun SS)
Mike Hobbs (Kuranda SS)

Kath Johnston (Cairns West SS)
Steve Foster (Badu Island SS)
Ellenor Davis (Yarrabah SS)

Julian Godfrey (Gordonvale SS)
Mal Cockburn (Weipa North SS)
Major Contributors Participating Staff from:
Kate Abberton Cape and Gulf District Office
Kay Ahmat Doomadgee SS
Rosalind Berry Mornington Island SS
Rose Callaghan Weipa North SS
Terry Davidson
Michelle Densley
Jenny Evans
Yvonne Haig Artwork
Colleen Hope
Christine Ludwig Brandon, Mornington Island SS.
Professor Ian Malcolm
June Nankivell
Michelle Picchetti
Dr. Anna Shnukal
Geraldine Sorrell
Gillian Tynan

^ Top of page

The Project also received support from the following:

Penny Balmer, Trish Brady, Madonna Brosnan, Julie Buist, Pauline Chester, Letitia Choppy, Fran Cooke, Heather Duncan, Judy Enoch, Maree Harris, Joyce Hudson, Deb Humphries, Patricia Konigsberg, Ann-Maree Ladner, Kerry MacIntyre, Geoffrey Mitchell, Jacinta Newman, Barry Riddiford, Joy Schloss, Barry Staib, Jenny Taylor, Donna Tor, Sandy Tyndall.

^ Top of page

Copyright | Disclaimer | Privacy | Right to information | Access keys | Other languagesOther languages

© The State of Queensland 2018.

Queensland Government