Access keys | Skip to primary navigation | Skip to secondary navigation | Skip to content | Skip to footer |
Problems viewing this site
Link to Queensland Government (www.qld.gov.au)
Home | Site map | Contact us | for
Department of Education, Training and Employment
Scholarships > The Premier's Anzac Prize >

The Premier's Anzac Prize 2017

Congratulations to the winners of The Premier's Anzac Prize 2017:

Isabella Clarke, Matthew Flinders Anglican College

Marissa Ellis, Trinity Bay State High School

Brooklyn Lade, Proserpine State High School

Nicholas Margetts, Christian Outreach College (Toowoomba)

Chase Pontifex, Pimlico State High School

Matisse Reed, St Monica's College (Cairns)

Charlotte Solomon, Somerville House (South Brisbane)

Hannah Taylor, Christian Outreach College (Toowoomba)

Chaperones to accompany the students are Sean Maher (Lead Chaperone), Nambour State College and Leanne Ross, Emerald State High School.

The eight students and two chaperones will travel to London and the Western Front in April 2017 attending the Dawn Service at Villers-Bretonneux in France on 25 April.

The tour group will depart on Tuesday 11 April 2017. Follow their tour below as they visit key sites important to Australia's involvement in the world wars.

For information on the 2018 Premier's Anzac Prize which opened on 10 April 2017, go to the 2018 tour page.

Tour reports

These photos, videos and journal entries are the students' personal experiences of the tour and the service personnel they researched. You can view the photos on the 2017 tour photo gallery page and view videos from the tour and post tour on the DET YouTube channel (external link).

Monday 10 April 2017 - Farewell event, Brisbane

Tuesday 11 April 2017 - Departing Brisbane to Singapore to London

Wednesday 12 April 2017 - London

Thursday 13 April 2017 - London

Friday 14 April 2017 - London

Saturday 15 April 2017 - London to Paris

Sunday 16 April 2017 - Paris

Monday 17 April 2017 - Paris

Tuesday 18 April 2017 - Paris to Ypres

Wednesday 19 April 2017 - Ypres Salient

Thursday 20 April 2017 - Ypres Salient

Friday 21 April 2017 - Bruges

Saturday 22 April 2017 - Ypres to the Somme (Amiens)

Sunday 23 April 2017 - The Somme

Monday 24 April 2017 The Somme

Tuesday 25 April 2017 - Anzac Day (Amiens to Paris)

Wednesday 26 April 2017 - Departing Paris to Singapore

Thursday 27 April 2017 - Singapore to Brisbane (In transit)

Friday 28 April 2017 - Post-tour event

Young Historian's Workshop

The Premier's Anzac Prize students arrived in Brisbane on Sunday 15 January 2017 for a two-day workshop at the State Library of Queensland on the 16th and 17th January. The students and chaperones were given the opportunity for a behind-the-scenes tour of the library and completed their research on service men and women who served in Gallipoli and on the Western Front with the assistance of a group of mentors from the State Library. Once finalised, their service person research will have a home on the State Library of Queensland website as a Historypin.

^ Top of page

This page was last reviewed on 24 Apr 2017

Copyright | Disclaimer | Privacy | Access keys | Other languagesOther languages

© The State of Queensland (Department of Education and Training) 2017.

Queensland Government