Access keys | Skip to primary navigation | Skip to secondary navigation | Skip to content | Skip to footer |
Problems viewing this site
Link to Queensland Government (
Home | Site map | Contact us | for
Department of Education
Scholarships > The Premier's Anzac Prize >

The Premier's Anzac Prize 2018

The Premier's Anzac Prize 2018 winners are:

Shana Coyle, St Monica's College, Cairns
Tyla Craven-Griffiths, Kirwan State High School
Jack Frey, St Teresa's Catholic College, Noosaville
Isabelle Jardine, Clayfield College
Isaac Mabo-Edwards, Pimlico State High School
Fenlan Miller, All Saints Anglican School, Merrimac
Harry Packwood, Shalom College, Bundaberg
Lillian Ward, Tannum Sands State High School

Mrs Jodi Pallett, Tannum Sands State High School (Lead chaperone)
Mr Tim McMahon, Christian Outreach College, Toowoomba

The students and chaperones travelled to London and the Western Front in April 2018. They visited key sites important to our Australian war history and had the opportunity to attend the historic Anzac Day centenary dawn service at the Australian War Memorial at Villers-Bretonneux, France. This is also the location of the new Sir John Monash Centre.

Tour reports

These photos, videos and journal entries are the students' personal experiences of the tour and the service personnel they researched. View tour photos on the 2018 tour photo gallery page and videos from the tour and post tour on the Department of Education YouTube channel.

Friday 13 April 2018 - Farewell Event, Brisbane

Saturday 14 April 2018 - London

Sunday 15 April 2018 - London

Monday 16 April 2018 - London

Tuesday 17 April 2018 - London to Paris

Wednesday 18 April 2018 - Paris

Thursday 19 April 2018 - Paris to Ypres

Friday 20 April 2018 - Ypres Salient

Saturday 21 April 2018 - Bruges

Sunday 22 April 2018 - Life at the front

Monday 23 April 2018 - Ypres to the Somme

Tuesday 24 April 2018 - The Somme

Wednesday 25 April 2018 - Anzac Day

Thursday 26 April 2018 - The Somme

Friday 27 April 2018 - The Somme to Paris

Saturday 28 April 2018 - Paris - Dubai - Brisbane

Sunday 29 April 2018 - Arrive in Brisbane

Monday 30 April 2018 - Post-tour event

Young Historian's Workshop

The Premier's Anzac Prize students attended a two-day workshop at the State Library of Queensland in January 2018. The students and chaperones were given the opportunity for a behind-the-scenes tour of the library and completed their research on service men and women who served in Gallipoli and on the Western Front with the assistance of a group of mentors from the State Library. Their service person research now has a home on the State Library of Queensland website as a Historypin.

Six of 2018 Prize winners with Education Minister Grace Grace looking at WWI artefacts at the state librarySix of the 2018 Prize Winner with Education Minister Grace Grace

^ Top of page

This page was last reviewed on 31 Aug 2018 at 03:03PM

Copyright | Disclaimer | Privacy | Right to information | Access keys | Other languagesOther languages

© The State of Queensland 2018.

Queensland Government