Access keys | Skip to primary navigation | Skip to secondary navigation | Skip to content | Skip to footer |
Problems viewing this site
Link to Queensland Government (
Home | Site map | Contact us | for
Department of Education, Training and Employment
Scholarships >

TJ Ryan Memorial Medal and Scholarship

Applications for the 2016 TJ Ryan Memorial Medal and Scholarships are closed. Scholarships will be awarded to successful candidates in March 2016.

History of the Scholarship

The TJ Ryan Memorial Medal represents a long-standing tradition of recognising educational achievement in Queensland. The award is a memorial to Thomas Joseph Ryan, former teacher, barrister and Queensland Premier (1915 - 1919), and are provided to Queensland students who demonstrate a strong commitment to high academic achievement and outstanding leadership in both their school and the local community.

From 1927 to 1970, the TJ Ryan Memorial Scholarship was awarded to the student who achieved the highest result in the state Scholarship Examination. The Scholarship program ceased with the end of these public examinations.

In 1993, the TJ Ryan Awards were re-introduced by the Queensland Government. The Award was open to students from disadvantaged backgrounds who demonstrated academic excellence and who displayed leadership qualities through their achievements in Year 12. From 1996, the Awards were expanded to all Queensland students who demonstrate outstanding leadership qualities and academic excellence during their senior years at High School.

In 2003, the Award was renamed the TJ Ryan Memorial Medal and Scholarships but has also been known as the Premier's Awards and the Lilley Medal. Up to 10 TJ Ryan Memorial Medals and Scholarships are awarded each year.

Congratulations to the Past Winners of this prestigious award.

See what others say about the scholarship video about the scholarships (duration 2.59 minutes).

Enquiries and further information

Refer to the 2016 Guidelines Adobe PDF document for further information.

Enquiries may be directed to or by telephone on (07) 3055 2969.

^ Top of page

This page was last reviewed on 16 Dec 2015 at 07:54AM

Copyright | Disclaimer | Privacy | Right to information | Access keys | Other languagesOther languages

© The State of Queensland (Department of Education and Training) 2016.

Queensland Government