TJ Ryan Memorial Medal and Scholarships


​​​​​​​Up to 10 TJ Ryan Memorial Medal and Scholarships are awarded each year, to support exemplary Queensland students to pursue tertiary studies.

State and non-state secondary schools can nominate one high achieving year 12 student for this award. Nominees should demonstrate outstanding leadership in their school and community and academic excellence.

History of the scholarship

The TJ Ryan Memorial Medal represents a long-standing tradition of recognising educational achievement in Queensland. The award is a memorial to Thomas Joseph Ryan, former teacher, barrister and Queensland Premier (1915–1919), and are provided to students who demonstrate a strong commitment to high academic achievement and outstanding leadership in both their school and the local community.

From 1927 to 1970, the TJ Ryan Memorial Scholarship was awarded to the student who achieved the highest result in the state scholarship examination. The scholarship program ceased with the end of these public examinations.

In 1993, the TJ Ryan Awards were re-introduced by the Queensland Government. The award was open to students from disadvantaged backgrounds who demonstrated academic excellence and who displayed leadership qualities through their achievements in Year 12. From 1996, the awards were expanded to all students who demonstrate outstanding leadership qualities and academic excellence during their senior years at high school.

In 2003, the award was renamed the TJ Ryan Memorial Medal and Scholarships but has also been known as the Premier's Awards and the Lilley Medal.

View what others say about the scholarship (duration 2.59 minutes).

Award details

Each year, the Queensland Department of Education awards:

  • up to 10 TJ Ryan Memorial Medallists:
    • a scholarship of up to $10,000 over 5 years
    • a certificate of recognition
  • up to 5 TJ Ryan Highly Commended awards:
    • a one-off cash payment of $1,000
    • a certificate of recognition
  • up to 20 TJ Ryan Merit awards:
    • a certificate of merit.

How schools nominate their candidate

Each Queensland secondary school can submit one only nominee.

  • Review the Nomination Guidelines provided
  • Schools determine their one nominee
  • Review the nomination process with the selected nominee to prepare a nomination

Student nominee submits the nomination.

  • Gather all supporting documents (as listed in the Scholarship Checklist provided on Smart Jobs).
  • Visit Smart Jobs to nominate yourself for the scholarship.
  • Click the green ‘apply online’ button at the bottom of that page to proceed – you may need to create an account.
  • When logged in to the Smart Jobs account, complete the online questionnaire and upload all required supporting documents.
  • Submit nomination by the closing date​.

Enquiries and further information

Nominations for the 2023 TJ Ryan Memorial Medal and Scholarship program have closed. Subscribe​ to receive an email when applications for the 2024 scholarship program opens.​

​If you have any questions about this scholarship, contact our Scholarships and Grants team by email at​ or telephone on (07) 3055 2991.

2022 award recipients


  • Annabelle Hazelton, St Rita's College
  • Ella Anderson, Mackay State High School
  • Ella Wilkinson, Noosa District State High School
  • George Dance, Anglican Church Grammar School
  • Harrison Oates, St Augustine's College (Cairns)
  • Henry Hall, Kelvin Grove State College
  • Holly Atherton, Kenmore State High School
  • Murray Colbridge, Trinity Anglican School
  • Renee Briggs, Redlynch State College
  • William Deeley, Whitsunday Anglican School​

Highly commended

  • Ashleigh Walker, Capalaba State College
  • Chloe Coombe, The Cathedral College (Rockhampton)
  • Drishti Salaria, Toolooa State High School
  • Eden Chan, St Joseph's College (Gregory Terrace)
  • Ellie Zillfleisch, Mossman State High School​


  • Andrew Udal, Bundaberg Christian College
  • Ashlynn Dowling, Bremer State High School
  • Austin Meikle, Tropical North Learning Academy - Smithfield State High School
  • Brianna Kelleher, Holy Spirit College (Mackay)
  • Campbell Done, Maryborough State High School
  • Catherine Scanlan, Lockyer District State High School
  • Chantelle Jackson, St Paul's School (Bald Hills)
  • Christopher Hamilton, Ferny Grove State High School
  • Corey McCormick, North Lakes State College
  • Courtney Padget, Narangba Valley State High School
  • Curtis Neal, Nambour State College
  • Dailin Joshua, Mareeba State High School
  • Daniel Marais, Albany Creek State High School
  • Daniel Quill, The Gap State High School
  • Dylan Ogden, Roma State College
  • Elizabeth Pico Gonzalez, Queensland Academy for Creative Industries
  • Felicity Caruana, Innisfail State College
  • Garlok Lu, Queensland Academy for Health Sciences
  • Georgia McGovern, Xavier Catholic College
  • Hamish Colbert, Iona College
  • Zane Turner, Maroochydore State High School
  • Hannah Nugent, St Mary’s College (Ipswich)
  • Iain Jensen, Queensland Academy for Science, Mathematics and Technology
  • Jake Russell, Good Shepherd Catholic College (Mount Isa)
  • Jasmine Matthews, Bentley Park College
  • Jazmin Simmons, Caloundra State High School
  • John Anderson, Toowoomba Grammar School
  • Kelland McNall, Fraser Coast Anglican College
  • Madison Braddock, Whitsunday Christian College
  • Madison Iles, Emerald State High School
  • Maegan Palmer, Coombabah State High School
  • Molly Jeffery, Pimlico State High School
  • Olivia Soncin, St Stephen's Catholic College (Mareeba)
  • Paris Robinson, Moranbah State High School
  • Raena Lescano, Springfield Central State High School
  • Raymond East, St Mary's Catholic College (Woree)
  • Robert Blakeley, Redeemer Lutheran College
  • Ryan Wilcox, Aldridge State High School
  • Saara Silvola, Mountain Creek State High School
  • Tyrone Torralba, Beenleigh State High School

Last updated 23 January 2023