Stages of schooling


Queensland schools provide education ensuring the success of every student in:

  • Kindergarten
  • Prep to Year 10
  • Years 11 and 12.

The P-12 curriculum, assessment and reporting framework (P-12 CARF) specifies the curriculum, assessment and reporting requirements for all Queensland state school principals and staff delivering the curriculum from Prep to Year 12.

Contact your school to discuss your child's assessment and curriculum. School contact details are available by phoning 13 QGOV (13 74 68) or searching the schools directory.


Kindergarten, known as kindy, is a part-time early childhood education program for children in the year before school. Attending a kindy program supports children learn through play, make friends and prepare for the transition to school.

Kindergarten programs are offered in long day care services and stand-alone kindergarten services. The Queensland Government also delivers kindergarten programs via the eKindy and Kindergarten in remote communities initiatives.

Prep to Year 10

Queensland schools are required to implement all 8 learning areas of the Australian Curriculum version 8 in Prep to Year 10 by the end of 2020.

The Australian Curriculum consists of 8 learning areas, 7 general capabilities and 3 cross-curriculum priorities. In delivering the curriculum, all aspects of the achievement standard for each learning area and/or subject provided in a year and/or band are to be covered.

The 8 learning areas include:

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Health and Physical Education
  • Technologies
  • The Arts
  • Languages

Schools continue to use the Queensland Curriculum for learning areas that have not yet been replaced by the Australian Curriculum until the end of 2020.

A focus on age and learner appropriate curriculum and pedagogical practices support students' wellbeing and transitions.

Years 7 to 10 is the bridge between Prep to Year 6 and Years 11 and 12. Teaching, assessing and reporting against the Australian Curriculum in Years 7 to 10 is the best preparation for success in Years 11 and 12. 

Year 11 and 12

In Years 11 and 12, Queensland schools are required to select curriculum to be implemented from a range of subject options available through the Queensland Curriculum and Assessment Authority (QCAA). The QCAA senior syllabuses build on the expectations of the Prep to Year 10 Australian Curriculum. The syllabuses are grouped in the 8 learning areas of the Australian Curriculum to highlight this continuity. Senior syllabuses are developmental and are generally completed over two years with Units 1 and 2 (Year 11) studied prior to Units 3 and 4 (Year 12).

Vocational Education and Training

Vocational Education and Training (VET) is a learning option for young people in the senior phase of learning. It may involve the attainment of a nationally recognised VET qualification and provide credit towards the attainment of a Queensland Certificate of Education (QCE). VET courses are designed to deliver workplace-specific skills and knowledge. 

VET covers a wide range of careers and industries, including trade and office work, retail, hospitality and technology. Completion of a VET qualification while at school is an opportunity for students to gain a head start to a career pathway in VET.

Last updated 25 May 2020