Queensland schools constitutional conventions


​​Since 1995, the Queensland Department of Education has run a program of school constitutional conventions each year. The conventions educate senior secondary students about the Australian Constitution and how it guides our democracy. They involve students from all 3 sectors—state, Catholic and independent.

2024 Queensland Schools Constitutional Convention

Queensland’s annual program of schools’ constitutional conventions invites State, Catholic and Independent schools to register a team of students from Years 7 to 11 to investigate a constitutional issue.

For 2024, participants will engage in the program via:

  • an online statewide convention held through Canvas, accessible by all state and non-state schools, on Thursday 25 July
  • a face-to-face North Queensland convention for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students in Townsville—date to be confirmed

The program involves exploring resources about the Australian Constitution, engaging with keynote presentations and working in groups with students across all Queensland schools.

Eligible participants

A school or teacher contact from a Queensland State, Catholic or Independent secondary school may register their interest in the day. Students studying Humanities and Social Science subjects in Years 7 to 11, can draw on their learning, to investigate an issue and contribute to the discussions throughout the day. 

Additionally, schools will be encouraged to nominate 1 candidate from Year 10 or 11, to present a 2–3 minute multimodal speech addressing a constitutional issue. All candidate presentations will be viewed and each school will cast their vote to elect delegates to represent Queensland in the National Schools Constitutional Convention held in 2025. All student delegates who attend the National Convention must be in Year 11 or 12 in 2025.

Nomination information will be advertised to registered schools.


Queensland Schools Cons​​titutional Convention

  • Event type: Online
  • Registration: Registrations can be completed online and close Friday 21 June 2024
  • Event date: Thursday 25 July 2024

Queensland Schools Constitutional Co​nvention—North Queensland—Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander​

After regis​​tr​​ation

Further information regarding pre-reading materials, programs and processes will be communicated to the​​ nominated school contact.

If you have any questions or enquiries,​ please email

Queensland's delegates to the 2024 National Schools Constitutional Convention

The 2024 National Schools Constitutional Convention was held from Tuesday 19 March to Thursday 21 March 2024 at the Museum of Australian Democracy in Canberra. Delegates were selected from the following schools to represent Queensland:

  • Albany Creek State High School
  • Annandale Christian College
  • Ayr State High School
  • Bowen State High School
  • Brisbane School of Distance Education
  • Cavendish Road State High School
  • Heatley Secondary College
  • Kepnock State High School
  • Marsden State High School
  • Mirani State High School
  • Pimlico State High School
  • Queensland Academy for Health Science
  • Ryan Catholic College
  • St Margaret Mary's College
  • St Rita's College
  • Stretton State College
  • Tannum Sands State High School
  • The Cathedral College
  • Thuringowa State High School
  • Toolooa State High School
  • Western Cape College
  • Wilsonton State High School
  • Yeronga State High School​
Last updated 16 April 2024