Principals Masters of Education (Inclusive Education) Scholarship



The purpose of this scholarship is to assist schools to support the principal to complete a 3-year external Master of Education (inclusive education) degree at the Queensland University of Technology (QUT).

Inclusive education is projected to become one of Queensland's fastest growing working areas of demand by 2020. Completing the degree will allow principals to further enhance their knowledge and skills to develop educational environments that recognise difference, value diversity, foster high levels of student engagement and learning and support collaborative relationships among students, parents/caregivers, staff and community professionals.

Duration of program



A selection panel process through the Smart Jobs and Careers website awarded principals who met the criteria, including:

  • is a principal employed at a Queensland state school
  • has a demonstrated commitment to leadership in the area of inclusive education
  • has a history of initiating and maintaining school improvement
  • has the written support of their supervisor.

The 12 principals in the first cohort commenced their study in July 2017 and are to be completed by mid-2021. The 12 principals in the second cohort who commenced study in July 2018 are to be completed by mid-2022. The final cohort will commence study in July 2019 and be completed by mid-2023.

Cohort 1 eligible schools: Aratula State School, Pimpama State College, Kedron State High, Beaudesert State School, Dakabin State School, Monto State High School, Kairi State School, Mabel Park State High School, Crestmead State School, Mackay Central State School, Berrinba East State School and Muttaburra State School.

Cohort 2 eligible schools: Queensland Academies (Creative Industries), Wellington Point State High School, Scottville State School, Cedar Creek State School, Corinda State School, Bymount East State School, Ferny Grove State School, Calamvale Community College, Ilfracombe State School, Conondale State School, Charters Towers Central State School, Loganlea State High School.

Cohort 3 eligible schools: Beaconsfield State School, Bowen State High School, Bullyard State School, Charleville State School, Dalby State School, Durong South State School, Kioma State School, Mount Marrow State School, North Lakes State College, Queens Beach State School, Southport State High School, Woolooga State School.

Allocation of funds

5 days per semester (maximum) x Teacher Relief Scheme (TRS) rate.

Principals must supply a copy of the regionally approved Study and Research Award Scheme (SARAS) leave application with their claim for TRS and are encouraged to submit their claim with 6 months of taking the SARAS leave.

Principals may be eligible to obtain reimbursement of study resources, such as textbooks, that directly relate to their master degree.

Payment details

PaymentDuring month ofProportion of allocation paid
On applicationIn line with the monthly payment100%

Data requirements

Data itemData sourceDue date
TRS rateFinance BranchJanuary
SARAS leaveRegional approvalOn application
TRS dates takenEmail from principalOn application
​Study resources​Proof of purchase​On submission of application

Recoupment policy

Recoupment may be sought if the following criteria are not met:

  • the principal is employed at a Queensland state school
  • is enrolled in the degree
  • is receiving favourable results.

How to apply

No further applications can be made for this program at this time.

Applications by participants to claim reimbursements can be made to


Scholarships and Grants Team
Engagement and Talent Acquisition​
Phone: (07) 3055 2927

Last updated 21 December 2023